clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IFFHS Votes Iker Casillas Best Keeper In The World

Come At Me Bro!
Come At Me Bro!

For the 4th consecutive year, Real Madrid's captain and their last line of defense, Iker Casillas, has been named the best goal keeper in the world by the International Federation Of Football History and Statistics. This also sets a record for the award, as no other keeper has ever won the award four years in a row.

Juventus keeper Gianluigi Buffon won the award four times as well, but not in a row. He won the award back to back in 2003 and 2004. His string was broken by Chelsea FC's Petr Cech, before winning the next two years. Since then, the only person to win the award is Casillas.

So once again congratulations to our skipper!

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid