clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

World Cup Brazil 2014, Day 1: Preview

The World Cup is finally here. Brazil and Croatia will face each other in the first game in the competition, with one madridista at each side.

Buda Mendes

We only get to watch a World Cup once every four years, so it is natural to be anxious about its first game. After the opening ceremony is finished, the magnificent Sao Paulo Arena will host a thrilling game between Brazil and Croatia and it will be, as usual, the only game in the first day of the competition.

Our team will be represented in Sao Paulo. Modric will lead the Croatians in the difficult challenge of beating one of the rockiest teams in the tournament. Scolari has built an extremely solid squad that will count on Neymar's fantasy to break each of their rivals' defensive lines, and where Marcelo is an important piece both in offensive and defensive tasks.

In the writer's opinion, this is the most attractive game in Group A, which also contains Cameroon and Mexico. In principle, Brazil should have no trouble to move on to the next phase and Croatia should be their companion, but Samuel Eto'o, Chicharito Hernández, Rafa Márquez or Alexandre Song will, for sure, do their best to cut their hopes.

Projected lineups

Brazil: Julio César; Dani Alves, Thiago Silva, David Luiz, Marcelo; Luiz Gustavo, Paulinho; Hulk, Oscar, Neymar; Fred.

Croatia: Pletikosa; Srna, Ćorluka, Lovren, Vrsaljko; Rakitić, Modrić; Olić, Kovačić, Perišić; Jelavić.

The game starts on Thursday, June 12th, at 17:00 BRT (Sao Paulo); 13:00 PDT (Los Angeles); 16:00 EDT (New York); 22:00 CEST (Madrid).

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid