clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

OFFICIAL: FIFA names candidates to win Ballon D'Or

Bale, Benzema, Ronaldo, Kroos and James are the 5 players representing Real Madrid in the list.

Denis Doyle/Getty Images

It would be quite a shock to see a Real Madrid player winning the 2015 FIFA Ballon D'Or after Barcelona's treble. Still, 5 Madrid players made the 23-man list to win it. Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Cristiano Ronaldo, Toni Kroos and James Rodríguez were the chosen ones and that seems about right given the amount of time Modric missed and Sergio Ramos' bad form throughout the year.

Lionel Messi is definitely the favorite to win this award and he was joined by Iniesta, Mascherano, Rakitic, Neymar and Luis Suárez in the list.

De Bruyne, Agüero, Hazard, Ibrahimovic, Alexis Sánchez, Lewandowski, Müller, Neuer, Pogba, Robben and Yayá Touré complete the list although they should have no chance.

Cristiano Ronaldo has conquered the last two Ballons D'Or but Barcelona's success during the last season will surely be very important for the award. If the Portuguese wants to win another Real Madrid need to win trophies this season.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid