clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

OFFICIAL: Messi wins 2015 FIFA Ballon D'Or, Ronaldo second

Cristiano Ronaldo comes up short.

Philipp Schmidli/Getty Images

Kaká announced Lionel Messi's name as the winner of the 2015 FIFA Ballon D'Or. This was a fairly evident choice as the Argentinian star had won the treble with FC Barcelona last season.

Messi got 41.33% of votes - Cristiano was easily second with 27.76% & Neymar got (7.86%), according to FIFA.

Neymar and Cristiano Ronaldo came up short but they probably knew the outcome of this award already. After all, Messi was the leader of that Barcelona team. He has now won 5 Ballons D'Or in comparison to Cristiano Ronaldo's 3 awards.

"It's a very special moment for me. It's incredible that it's my fifth. It's much more than I dreamed of as a kid," said the Argentine after Kaká gave him the award.

It will be very hard for Ronaldo to equal Messi's tally and in order to do so he must lead Real Madrid to as many titles as possible.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid