clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

La Liga reveal 2017/18 schedule

Full Real Madrid schedule enclosed

Real Madrid CF v FC Barcelona - La Liga Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The return of Real Madrid football is closer than it seems. With the season’s start date a little less than a month away, La Liga officials have released the 2017/18 match schedule.

Real Madrid will kick off their new campaign against Deportivo La Coruna at the Estadio Riazor. Deportivo finished 16th in Spain’s top division last season which leaves Real Madrid with a simple start to their year. The opening match will take place on August 20, 2017.

Madrid’s home opener will take place on August 27 against Valencia at the Bernabeu. Valencia, much like Deportivo, is a lower mid-table team that struggled to gain a foot in the league last season following a few managerial misfortunes.

Apart from the openers, the major upcoming dates to keep an eye on are El Clasico and Madrid Derbies.

The first Madrid Derby will happen on November 19th, away at Atletico’s ground. The second will occur on April 8, 2018, back at the Bernabeu. As for El Clasico, Madrid will welcome Barcelona on December 20th — Madrid’s last match before a three-week winter break. Barcelona hosts the second fixture on May 6, Madrid’s third-to-last game of the season.

Here is Madrid’s 2017/18 fixture list:

8/20/17: Deportivo La Coruna (A)

8/27/17: Valencia (H)

9/10/17: Levante (H)

9/17/17: Real Sociedad (A)

9/20/17: Real Betis (H)

9/24/17: Alaves (A)

10/1/17: Espanyol (H)

10/15/17: Getafe (A)

10/22/17: Eibar (H)

10/29/17: Girona (A)

11/5/17: Las Palmas (H)

11/19/17: Atletico Madrid (A)

11/26/17: Malaga (H)

12/3/17: Athletic Club (A)

12/10/17: Sevilla (H)

12/17/17: Leganes (A)

12/20/17: Barcelona (H)

1/7/18: Celta Vigo (A)

1/14/18: Villarreal (H)

1/21/18: Deportivo La Coruna (H)

1/28/18: Valencia (A)

2/4/18: Levante (A)

2/11/18: Real Sociedad (H)

2/18/18: Real Betis (A)

2/25/18: Alaves (H)

2/28/18: Espanyol (A)

3/4/18: Getafe (H)

3/11/18: Eibar (A)

3/18/18: Girona (H)

4/1/18: Las Palmas (A)

4/8/18: Atletico Madrid (H)

4/15/18: Malaga (A)

4/18/18: Athletic Club (H)

4/22/18: Sevilla (A)

4/29/18: Leganes (H)

5/6/18: Barcelona (A)

5/13/18: Celta Vigo (H)

5/20/18: Villarreal (A)

The full 2017/18 La Liga season schedule can be found here.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid