clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spain announce squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup

Spain v Italy - FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier Photo by Claudio Villa/Getty Images

Spain coach Julen Lopetegi announced his 23 players for the upcoming FIFA World Cup in Russia. Six Real Madrid players will represent Spain in the tournament.

Goalkeepers: Kepa, Reina, De Gea.

Defenders: Carvajal, Nacho, Ramos, Pique, Odriozola, Monreal, Azpilicueta, Alba.

Midfielders: Busquets, Isco, Thiago, Silva, Iniesta, Saul, Koke.

Attackers: Aspas, Asensio, Rodrigo, Costa, Lucas Vazquez.

This is a solid list for Spain, although there will be controversy around figures like Morata or Sergi Roberto.

Morata in particular left Real Madrid to have minutes as a starter for Chelsea and be a part of this list. It’s now clear that he made a mistake leaving the Spanish capital given that he could have played relevant minutes because of Benzema’s struggles.

Carvajal, Ramos, Isco and Asensio could all be starting for Spain in Russia as Lopetegi’s man hope to be competing for the title after their fiasco in 2014, falling in the group stage.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid