clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FIFA publish final list of nominees to win The Best award

The Best FIFA Football Awards - Show Photo by Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

FIFA just published the 10 nominees to win The Best award.

Raphael Varane and Luka Modric are representing Real Madrid in said list, with Cristiano Ronaldo being the main candidate to win the award after the season he completed with Los Blancos.

However, Modric also appears to have a good shot at the award because of his extremely successful 2018 FIFA World Cup, where he carried Croatia to the Final alongside Barça midfielder Ivan Rakitic. Varane could also be considered for the award given that he’s the only player on the list who won the Champions League title and the FIFA World Cup trophy this year.

The winner will be announced next September in London. Cristiano Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane won the award for The Best Men’s Player and The Best Men’s Coach last year after the double they achieved with Real Madrid in the 2016-2017 season. Zidane appears to be set to repeat the award.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid