Real Madrid spokesperson and former player Emilio Butragueño talked to the media after the team’s 0-0 draw at home against Betis and revealed his displeasure with the late no call when Zou Feddal touched the ball with his hand preventing Karim Benzema’s cross to reach its target.
“We are confused about the decision that has been made. It’s a play where the hand clearly interrupts the move and from there a decision was not made,” said Butragueño.
The VAR reviewed the play but the penalty was not called ultimately.
“I don’t know why VAR goes in one direction and sometimes in another. It was understood with VAR that these kinds of situations were going to be solved with clarity, but it doesn’t seem like it. You have a situation where the referee doesn’t see the play clearly and now there’s another tool with people watching the game and they can provide them with extra information. We thought it was going to be a penalty; I thought it was going to be, but it wasn’t,” explained Butragueño.
In the end, it’s true that Feddal’s handball wasn’t intentional, but many times in the past that has not been the crucial factor to make a decision about whether a handball is a penalty or not.
“I saw the handball but it is down to the referee’s interpretation,” said Zidane after the game. Even the club’s match report mentions the play on its headline as a “controversial refereeing decision.”
In the end, Madrid lost two points they should’ve won and Los Blancos just can’t keep any kind of momentum they gain after their wins. Luckily enough for them, Barcelona lost against Levante and both clubs are now even on points.