clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Take Me Out to the Ballgame

Real Madrid fielded a baseball team from 1903 to around 1989.

1950s’ Real Madrid baseball team
Royal Spanish Baseball Federation

Take me out to the… Real Madrid baseball game?

Yep, you read that right. Real Madrid used to have a baseball team. In fact, the current top-three teams in La Liga each used to have one: Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Atletico Madrid. The three made up part of what is now known as the Division de Honor de Beísbol and is governed by the Real Federación Española de Beísbol y Sófbal. (Rayo Vallecano and RCD Espanyol also fielded teams for a while.)

Real Madrid’s team is reported as starting in 1903, but folded after the 1989 season. In that time, they won eight Copa del Rey championships and had four second place finishes. Their last championship came in 1963. Their record stood until 1980 when it was tied and then finally beaten in 1990.

The majority of the nine teams can now be found in the northwest of Spain with the team to be beat being the Tenerife Marlins.

On that note, excuse me while I go get the money for my next Real Madrid kit:

Be sure to browse the virtual museum to see pictures from teams and players both past and present.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid