clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Real Madrid announce squad for Copa del Rey match against Zaragoza

No Casemiro, Isco or Militao to face Zaragoza.

Real Valladolid v Real Madrid - La Liga Santander Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

Real Madrid have published their squad list for Wednesday’s match against Zaragoza in the Copa del Rey Round of 16.


Goalkeepers: Courtois, Areola and Altube.

Defenders: Carvajal, Ramos, Varane, Nacho, Marcelo and Mendy.

Midfielders: Kroos, Modric, Valverde and James.

Attackers: Benzema, Lucas V., Jović, Brahim, Vinicius Jr. and Rodrygo.

Zidane has decided to keep Casemiro, Isco and Militao in Madrid and they won’t be available for this match. Gareth Bale hasn’t recovered in time either.

All things considered, it looks like Zidane will have to start Valverde in Casemiro’s spot as a defensive midfielder. It’s likely that Benzema, Vinicius and Rodrygo start upfront, although James Rodriguez could also have a chance of featuring in the lineup. Marcelo will probably start on the left side of Real’s defensive line now that Mendy has taken control of the starting spot.

Real Madrid will need to take this game seriously if they want to advance, as Zaragoza are a quality team who might play in Primera Division next year.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid