clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jose Luis Mendilibar says Sergio Ramos admitted it was a penalty

Eibar’s manager spoke to the press after the game


SD Eibar manager Jose Luis Mendilibar spoke to the press after his team lost 1 - 3 to Real Madrid in Ipurua on Sunday night.

Mendilibar was, of course, asked about the Sergio Ramos handball in the box, which didn’t result in a penalty for Eibar.

“The ball hit his harm and it looked a penalty to me,” Mendilibar said. “Ramos also thought it was a penalty, because that’s what he said to the other players.

“I’d like you to say what you think. Other times, they’re looking at all the camera [angles] for two or three minutes. Today, they made their decision in 20 seconds and didn’t even go to look at it.

“I don’t know what VAR would’ve told [the referee]. Is it that clear that it wasn’t a penalty, from what he’s seen?

“These things happen with handball. No one is sure what is a penalty or not. Not even the referees are sure.”

Mendilibar did also speak about his side’s football, and that he was proud of his team’s high press against a great opponent:

“They were a lot better than us to start with and it seemed as though all was lost for us,” Mendilibar admitted. “I thought about making a change so they wouldn’t humiliate us.

“Today, we saw that the players believe in what we’re asking of them. We kept pressing high and once we started to get the ball off them in the opposing half, we felt better.

“We had a great game against a very good Madrid side and that’s something to be happy about.”

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Managing Madrid Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Real Madrid news from Managing Madrid