clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Six Madridistas called up to Spanish WNT for 2023 World Cup Qualifiers

Spain v Belgium - Women’s International Friendly Photo by Diego Souto/Quality Sport Images/Getty Images

Spanish Women’s National Team coach Jorge Vilda called up six Real Madrid Femenino players for the first two matches of Spain’s 2023 World Cup Qualifying campaign. Misa Rodríguez, Olga Carmona, Ivana Andrés, Teresa Abelleira, Athenea del Castillo and Esther González are included in the Spain squad.

Real Madrid Femenino had the second most players called up to the Spanish Women’s National Team. The only team that had more players included in the squad were FC Barcelona Femení, who had seven players called up.

Spain will take on the Faroe Islands on Sept. 16 at 1:00 p.m ET (7:00 p.m. CET) and Hungary on Sept. 21 at 2:00 p.m. ET (8:00 p.m. CET).

Spain Squad

Goalkeepers: Sandra Paños, Misa Rodríguez, Sun Quiñones

Defenders: Ona Batlle, Olga Carmona, Maria Leon, Ivana Andrés, Andrea Pereira, Laia Aleixandri, Maria Alharilla Casado

Midfielders: Patri Guijarro, Anna Torroda, Alexia Putellas, Teresa Abelleira, Aitana Bonmatí, Irene Guerrero

Forwards: Athenea del Castillo, Amaiur Sarriegi, Esther González, Alba Redondo, Mariona Caldentey, Lucia García, Nerea Eizagirre